Wordtrack

Black Coffee by Ella Fitzgerald

Posted in Uncategorized by marbleseawrites on July 5, 2010

I’m feeling mighty lonesome 
Haven’t slept a wink 
I walk the floor and watch the door 
And in between I drink 
Black coffee 
Love’s a hand me down brew 
I’ll never know a Sunday 
In this weekday room 

I’m talking to the shadows 
from 1 o’clock til 4 
And lord, how slow the moments go 
When all I do is pour 
Black coffee 
Since the blues caught my eye 
I’m hanging out on Monday 
My Sunday dreams to dry 

Now a man is born to go a lovin’ 
A woman’s born to weep and fret 
To stay at home and tend her oven 
And drown her past regrets 
In coffee and cigarettes 

I’m moaning all the morning 
and mourning all the night 
And in between it’s nicotine 
And not much heart to fight 
Black coffee 
Feelin’ low as the ground 
It’s driving me crazy just waiting for my baby 
To maybe come around… around 
I’m waiting for my baby 
To maybe come around 

My nerves have gone to pieces 
My hair is turning gray 
All I do is drink black coffee 
Since my man’s gone away

Leave a Reply

