Wordtrack

Stormy Weather

Posted in Uncategorized by marbleseawrites on June 16, 2010

Don’t know why, there’s no sun up in the sky  
Stormy weather, since my man and I ain’t together
Keeps raining all the time 

Life is bare, gloom and misery everywhere
Stormy weather, just can’t get my poor old self together
I’m weary all the time, the time, so weary all of the time

When he went away, the blues walked in and met me
If he stays away, old rocking chair will get me
All I do is pray, the lord above will let me
walk in the sun once more

Can’t go on, everything I had is gone
Stormy weather, since my man and I ain’t together
Keeps raining all the time
Keeps raining all of the time

I walk around heavy-hearted and sad
Night comes around and I’m still feeling bad
Rain pourin’ down, blinding every hope I had
This pitter and n’ patter and beating, spattering driving  me mad
Love, love, love, love, the misery will be the end of me

When he went away, the blues walked in and met me
If he stays away, old rocking chair will get me
All I do is pray, the lord above will let me
Walk in the sun once more

Can’t go on, everything I had is gone
Stormy weather, since my man and I ain’t together
Keeps raining all the time, the time
Keeps raining all the time

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. XL said, on June 17, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    this reminds me of another song…..quite the opposite- abt blue skies…by wendy mathews…
    Hey, does it ever make you wonder
    what’s on my mind
    I, I was only ever running to your side
    I never cried, I just watched my life go by
    It’s just a pack of lies,
    ’cause you’re leaving me behind
    Why, after this long is there nothing
    I’ll keep, oh, I can shout
    you’ll pretend you’re falling asleep
    I live a lie, yeah, believing that you’re mine
    It’s just a waste of time
    ’cause you’re leaving me behind

    Hey, there’s not a cloud in the sky
    It’s as blue as your goodbye
    and I thought it would rain
    on a day like today
    Hey, there’s not a cloud in sight
    it’s as blue as your blue goodbye
    and I thought it would rain
    the day you went away

    Hey, does it ever make you wonder what’s on my mind
    I was only ever running back to your side
    Hey, there’s not a cloud in the sky
    it’s as blue as your goodbye
    and I thought it would rain
    on a day like today

    Hey, there’s not a cloud in sight
    it’s as blue as your blue goodbye
    and I thought it would rain
    the day you went away

    He’s on the buses, and the aeroplanes
    with some groceries and a sleeping bag….

  2. wordie said, on June 17, 2010 at 11:44 pm

    Yeah, it’s really similar in sentiment, isn’t it. The thing about these songs is that I really love how they are sung and there is real emotion and comprehension in the delivery, but at the same time, I feel kind of resistant now to the idea that your world crumbles just because love has gone. Or maybe I’m just a more callous person now…

    • XL said, on June 20, 2010 at 8:16 pm

      i guess if world doesnt crumble after love is gone/dead/lost, it is indeed indicative of callousness. but perhaps theres a difference bet love loss, and love death.


Leave a Reply

